Five Storm Wrestlers Named to Coaches Association DII All-Academic Team

Lake Erie had four wrestlers named to the 2011-12 Division II Coaches All-Academic Team

PAINESVILLE, OHIO – Lake Erie College had five wrestlers named to the NCAA Division II Coaches Association All-Academic Team released Thursday (March 7).  Three of the Storm wrestlers named to the squad are returners from last year's All-Academic Team.

Headlining the group is sophomore 125-pound national qualifier Ian Ross (Newark, N.Y./Newark) and junior 184-pounder Zev Green (Marysville, Ohio/Marysville) who were second-team selections.  This was the second straight season Green earned second-team accolades.

Junior Jared Merritt (Cranesville, Pa./Northwestern), Isaac Morisette (Southgate, Mich./Southgate/Oakland) and Tyler Tesny (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio/Cuyahoga Falls) all received honorable mention.  Merritt was also an honorable mention selection last year while Tesny was a second-team pick.

This is the first All-Academic honor from the Coaches Association for Ross and Morisette.

To qualify, a wrestler must have a 3.00 cumulative GPA, be in his second full year at his current school and be a varsity team member or key reserve.