Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Storm Earns Numerous All-ECAC Honors

Storm Earns Numerous All-ECAC Honors

Click Here for Full ECAC Release

DANBURY, Conn.—Eight members of the Lake Erie College men's lacrosse team earned All-Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) honors announced by the conference Thursday (May 5).

Freshman Bret Swan (Acton, Ont./Halton Hills) walked away with the top award for the Storm, being named ECAC Specialist of the Year.  For the year, Swan went 173-of-296 (58.4%) on faceoffs, including 110-of-168 (65.5) in ECAC play.  Swan tallied a total of 83 groundballs and caused a pair of turnovers.  He also had one assist.  Swan went 14-of-18 against Lindenwood University,  15-of-22 against Seton Hill University, 15-of-20 against Walsh University and 12-of-18 against Pfieffer University.

In addition to being named Specialist of the Year, Swan also earned spots on the All-ECAC Second-Team and the All-Rookie Team.

Seniors Mitchell Shafer (Hamburg, N.Y./Hamburg) and Kole Robinson (Orchard Park, N.Y./Orchard Park) along with sophomore Lucas Shafer (Hamburg, N.Y./Hamburg) earned spots on the All-ECAC First-Team.

Mitchell Shafer, an attackman, led the Storm with 48 points on the season, scoring 23 goals and assisting on 25 more.  He also collected 19 groundballs and caused six turnovers.  Shafer totaled five points in four seperate games and had a season high seven points (two goals, five assists) against Walsh.

Kole Robinson started all 14 games on defense.  He caused 23 turnovers while collecting 31 groundballs.  Against Ohio Valley University, Robinson caused a season-high six turnovers.  He had a season-high eight groundballs against Pfieffer.  In addition to his defensive prowess, Robinson scored three goals and had one assist.

Midfielder Lucas Shafer was second on the team with 46 points.  He tallied 31 goals and 15 assists.  Shafer also tallied 33 groundballs and caused ten turnovers.  Shafer had four games with five or more points including an eight point game against Alderson-Broaddus University. 

Seniors Courtland Black-Araujo (Bowmanville, Ont./St. Stephen Secondary/Onondaga) and Tyler Smoot (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Scioto) joined Swan on the All-ECAC Second-Team.

Courtland Black-Araujo, a midfielder, totaled 42 points for the season on a team-high 38 goals and four assists.  He also collected 18 groundballs and caused six turnovers.  Black-Araujo scored three or more goals in eight separate games and had a season-high seven goals against Wheeling Jesuit University.

Tyler Smoot, a long stick midfielder, played in all 14 games for the Storm.  He was third on the team with 16 caused turnovers in addition to collecting 26 groundballs.  Smoot caused a season-high four turnovers against Pfieffer and had a season-high four groundballs against Lindenwood.

Senior Zach Bruening (Lancaster, N.Y./Lancaster) and sophomore Edmond Renaud (Carlisle, Ont./Waterdown District) were named to the All-ECAC Honorable Mention list.

Zach Bruening started all 14 games on defense for the Storm.  He totaled 27 groundballs and a team-high 26 caused turnovers.  Against Walsh, Bruening caused a season-high five turnovers.  He tallied four groundballs three times.  Against Wheeling Jesuit, he netted his first goal.

Edmond Renaud, an attackman, was fourth on the team with 38 points on 27 goals and 11 assists.  He also grabbed 24 groundballs and caused 10 turnovers.  Against Lenior-Rhyne University, Renaud tallied nine points on six goals and three assists.  He had six games with at least three goals.